My Fat Ankle, I Love Thee

I never paid much attention to my ankles.

The only time they’d get attention is when I would somehow hit them on an extremely hard object. And might I add that wasn’t pleasant.

It wasn’t until last year that something weird began to happen to my left ankle. It was a monstrosity. It was a disaster it–actually it isn’t as bad as I’m describing it to be. But I thought so.

My poor ankle began to swell.

At first I thought it was a temporary thing–maybe I was taking in too much salt. I cut back my salt intake, increased the amount of water I drank, but nothing changed. After four months of having to stay away from shoes that required small ankles, I got fed up.

My right ankle was nice and small–what was up with the left?

When I went to my doctor, she told me I had an underactive thyroid. Luckily, the doctor caught it early, and I did not immediately have to be put on medication. Woo.

She also said that’s the only explanation for my ankle swelling.

Great.

I had a fat ankle and a thyroid to deal with. She recommended taking Vitamin D pills (my Vitamin D level was low) because it would help my thyroid. After taking the pills, I was told my thyroid levels were once again fine!

Buttttttttt, my ankle was still fat.

Correction, is still fat.

As I sit on this train to NYC, I occasionally glanced at the oversized ankle in my TOMS. My right foot is dandy and can move freely around in my shoe…but the left barely has space to breathe.

At first I was extremely embarrassed at my ankle swelling. But, when I realized there was absolutely nothing I could do, I accepted it.

I realized it was here to stay. I also picked up on it’s likes and dislikes:

  • If I’m hot, my ankle will swell even more.
  • If I stand/still too long, it will swell
  • Not sleeping enough will leave it as big as when I first fell asleep

When people pointed it out, it always bugged me. But now I shrug it off. I’ve learned to accept and love it.

I can still walk, and so I’m grateful.

So to my fat ankle, I love thee.

 

Image

Just don’t get any bigger

3 thoughts on “My Fat Ankle, I Love Thee

Leave a Reply

