The Lifting Diaries: When Photoshop Meets Fitspo

Dear Diary,

Much of my inspiration for getting out of bed in the morning is because of Instagram.

I’ve turned into a follow junkie.

I follow a lot of lady lifters, as well as accounts that post a lot of inspiration pictures. I guess you could say I’ve been submerged into the world of Fitspo.

For those of you who don’t know, Fitspo is short for “fitsporation” or fit inspiration. Pictures of well toned women lifting weights, before and after pictures, as well as clean eating falls under fitspo.

60% of my news feed contains before and after pictures. Some of the results are absolutely amazing. Some women will go from “no booty” to “da booty” in weeks. That led me to wonder how the heck I haven’t seen amazing results in the last thee months.

It wasn’t until I was reminded of something called Photoshop.

 

images

 

Pictures like these aren’t safe from the hands of Photoshop. And it turns out that a few of the accounts I was following on Instagram had pictures that were edited.

How did I not catch on?

I mean, who can suddenly get a 6 pack in 2 weeks?

As a result of this deception, I’ve decided to stick to following people who post videos. That way I won’t think I’m doing badly.

This realization is also making me become more appreciative of how far I’ve come. I started out not being able to squat 20lbs, to now being able to squat 100lbs.

As for my upper body strength? I started out with noodle arms that are turning into guns (pow pow).

Progress shouldn’t be measured by the scale, but by strength. I’m getting stronger, so I must be doing something right.

 

titan-fitness-center

(Can’t believe I was fooled by this picture…but not really. )

Until next time,

Melissa

3 thoughts on “The Lifting Diaries: When Photoshop Meets Fitspo

Leave a Reply

