The Lifting Diaries: I’m Not Possessed, I Swear

Dear Diary,

It’s been brought to my attention that the heavier I lift, the stranger my faces get.

Before I got into lifting weights, I would observe other people (not in a creepy way, I swear). But, I noticed two things they would do: grunt and contort their faces. Happily killing it (or so I thought) on my elliptical, I was relieved I never had to deal with those faces.

Well, you know what they say about Karma.

As I was doing lateral pull downs on the machine I glanced in the mirror:

ArnoldInPain

(Not my face of course, but the expression was definitely the same.)

In shock, I stopped what I was doing–did anyone see me? I didn’t want people to think I was fighting a possession. I glanced around. Everyone was in their own world and didn’t seem to notice. Just as I was about to return to finishing my set, a girl on an elliptical was looking at me. She saw.

With a nervous smile I cranked up the volume of my music, finished my sets, and moved elsewhere.

This wasn’t the first time my face was possessed.

One time I was squatting, and mid-squat it happened!  Luckily no one noticed and I happily continued on.

I guess I need to start controlling my faces before someone calls an exorcist.

kim-kardashian-crying-face-2-zap2it

(Is this better?)

Until next time,

Melissa

2 thoughts on “The Lifting Diaries: I’m Not Possessed, I Swear

  1. Hahaha, I think there’s a difference between the “last rep face” and unnecessary contorting and yelling. Lateral raises are definitely an exercise where I find my upper lip curling in a very unattractive way. It’s like my shoulders are burning so bad they can’t resist anymore so my face hops in to join the party. But I sometimes see people who I’m 99% sure are grunting and squishing their faces just to look hardcore. Don’t they realize they’re wasting valuable energy?

    1. Ahaha, yes!! It’s like when my body realizes it’s on the last rep, it tries to resist, and I’m just like “Nooo!” Oh yes, I see a lot of those people who are grunting and contorting on the first rep ahaha, it’s seriously funny and a total waste of energy.

Leave a Reply

