The Lifting Diaries: Lesson Learned

Dear Diary,

Recently, I’ve been creating my workouts before going to the gym. Not only does it save me time, but my brain isn’t at full capacity in the early mornings.

When I got to the gym, I started with dumbbell flys. Now, let me first say that I haven’t done those in a month…and I used 10lb dumbbells when I did. So, how exactly did I think I could do them with 25lbs?!

I got into position, and as soon as I did my first rep, I swear my arms nearly ripped out of their socket! I quickly sat up and looked around.  I looked in the mirror and my face told a story of true pain:

Pain-Face

Within 5 seconds, I put away those 25lbs and went right back to 10lbs! Why did I think I could go macho without even practicing? Why didn’t I slowly increase weight? Why did I make that face in front of the mirror? (I swear people gave me a weird look.)

For next time, at least I know not to document my workout before actually doing it. Especially going 15lbs heavier than I normally do.

Until next time,

Melissa

4 thoughts on “The Lifting Diaries: Lesson Learned

Leave a Reply

